Vælg dato herover og derefter klik på det tidspunkt du ønsker at se filmen nedenfor. Find mere information om filmen længere nede på siden.

Foredrag forår 2018: Ig Nobel Prize: first laugh, then think
Foredrag forår 2018: Ig Nobel Prize: first laugh, then think

Foredrag: Ig Nobel Prize: first laugh, then think

Foredraget livestreames fra Aarhus Universitet. Der er fri entré.

Midtvejs vil der være indlagt en pause på 20 minutter.

The lecture is taught in English/Foredraget afholdes på letforståeligt engelsk.

We are again able to invite some of the researchers who have received the alternative Nobel Prize – the Ig Nobel Prize – to Aarhus University. It is hard to describe the Ig Nobel Prize and not least lectures of the price winners – it needs to be experienced. Here is a try though:
The award ceremony takes place every year in a blaze of publicity at a great gala ceremony at Harvard University, USA and is orchestrated by the founder of the prize, Marc Abrahams. The Nobel Prize brings into focus ten research results of the year that are exceptionally creative, unlikely and bizarre, though still serious. To put it in another way: The prize goes to “peculiar research” that in the first place makes us laugh and then afterwards gives us food for thought.

The prize covers a wide range of sciences, yet with main emphasis on natural science, medicine and social science. In general, the prizes are given to respected serious research which has been published in peer-reviewed scientific journals.

The evening will begin with a short lecture from the founder of the prize Marc Abrahams who, with a twinkle in the eye, will talk about the prize, the ceremony at Harvard University and some of the latest years prize winners and their research “which neither can or should be repeated”. After this, the Ig Nobel Prize winners below will explain and perhaps demonstrate their prize-winning achievements:

Marc-Antoine Fardin, Laboratoire de Physique, ENS de Lyon, France – for using fluid dynamics to probe the question 'Can a Cat Be Both a Solid and a Liquid?'. (2017 PHYSICS PRIZE).

Alex Garcia-Faura, Institut Marquès, Spain – for showing that a developing human foetus responds more strongly to music that is played electromechanically inside the mother's vagina than to music that is played electromechanically on the mother's belly. (2017 OBSTETRICS PRIZE).

Minna Lyons, University of Liverpool, United Kingdom – for amassing evidence that people who habitually stay up late are, on average, more self-admiring, more manipulative, and more psychopathic than people who habitually arise early in the morning. (2014 PSYCHOLOGY PRIZE).

Warning: The lectures are not suitable for the humourless. :-)

Læs mere på https://ofn.au.dk/season/4/foredrag/57.
Forelæser: Lecture by the founder of the Ig Nobel Prize, Marc Abrahams, and three price winners.

Foredraget er et led i serien Offentlige foredrag i Naturvidenskab som arrangeres af Aarhus Universitet og udbydes i samarbejde med værter i en række byer og Carlsbergfondet.